Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Halloween Interviews Part 2: Mija Lou

Photo: BHK Design
Photo: BHK Design

TAMD: Tell us a little about yourself.
Mija Lou: I'm a 21 year old Scandinavian viking from Denmark. Born and raised in the town of Lego, Billund. I go to business school, where I only survive because of coffee and music. I was raised in a family that loves music and to party, so I'm a pretty free spirit. I'm a lover, not a fighter. I try to fill my days with lots of love and joy. I don't let people manipulate me. I'm very down to earth and I'm a polite person. I think I'm a funny person; I laugh at my self a lot. I'm a creative person who loves to draw, paint, sing, dance, perform and so on. Lover of everything oldies, the music, the clothes, the people, the history. Lover of horror, zombies, and good scary films. Halloween freak.

TAMD: What or who inspired you to model?

ML: I've always loved to be in front of the camera. Always been inspired by the vintage pin-ups & looking more into it I found more modern pin-ups as well, and I felt the connection.
My family has always got my back and knewing that, I felt more strong to try out my little modeling dream. 

Jasmina Kovacevic
Jasmina Kovacevic

TAMD:  What would you like to get out of your modeling career?
ML: All in all the experience. To meet new people. To get published. See the world. Learn new things about my self and the world.

TAMD: What has been your biggest accomplishment so far in your modeling career?
ML: I'm so happy about all I've accomplished so far, from my first model work for Punk Up Bettie to my first publication in a magazine. Also being more happy about how I look, how I am, and being more open. All the people I've met through this have been incredible as well!

Daniel Vilstrup
Daniel Vilstrup

TAMD: You're mainly a pinup model, what drew you to that style?
ML: I'm a lover of the oldies. I love everything a pin-up model stands for. That's how I've always been.

TAMD: Besides modeling, you play various sports. Tell us about them.
ML: My family is very athletic, so of course I was raised to play sports. Football/Soccer is what runs in my family. My dad plays, my big brother did play when he was my age, if he hadn't stopped he probably would have been a pro goalkeeper today. My little brother has also been playing since he was little and if he would take it more seriously he probably also would be a pro. I've been playing since I was 10. I started out as the only girl with 35 boys, but that has only taught me to not be afraid of getting down and dirty. I play twice a week now and I'm striker. 

Daniel Vilstrup
Daniel Vilstrup

TAMD: Describe the modeling community in Denmark. Is it easy finding work, or is it still a small community of professionals?
ML: I wouldn't really know, because I haven't searched for model jobs here. I have a job for Punk Up Bettie who's located in Copenhagen (our capital), but that's the only thing I have with my own country. Danish alternative model Anne Lindfjeld basically told me to get the hell out of Denmark if I really wanted to be a professional alternative model.

 TAMD: What are a few things that people would never guess about you?
ML: I'm a quiet and shy person. I have anxiety. John Lennon is my hero. As a little girl I wanted to become a rabbit when I grew up. I love musicals. I have won gold and silver in rhythmic gymnastics. I'm not fond of the pin-up dresses with wide skirts. I've been to London, Paris, Prague but never tried to fly. I'm very clumsy. I hate my ankles. I'm a LOTR freak. 

Daniel Vilstrup
Daniel Vilstrup

TAMD: What are your plans for Halloween if you celebrate?
ML: My plans are to celebrate my friends birthday. We made it a tradition 2 years ago to celebrate her birthday and Halloween the same day because her birthday is 2 days before Halloween and we both love to go all Halloween crazy. It's really not a big thing in Denmark which is PRETTY DAMN ANNOYING.

As far as costume wise, I'm going to be the devil, as shown in my new Halloween photos. I want to be sexy this year! Haha!

TAMD: Is there anything you'd like to add and/or promote?
ML: My fan page? I have so much comin' and would love to share it with you all. It's always a pleasure. From more pin-up to more horror. Collaborations and publications. Yes it's all there! Come by and say hi :) xoxoxoxoxoxo!!

Thank you Ashley & TAMD <3 MUCH LOVE!!

Monday, September 24, 2012

Halloween interview Part 1: Brian Dickie

TAMD: You're new to TAMD, so please tell us a little about yourself. 
Brian Dickie: I'm 32, live in Chicago with a girlfriend, and a dog. At night I manage the longest running nightclub in the country, Neo. I fill up the days with as much as I can, whether it's being an extra on tv shows or movies, photoshoots, fixing Harleys, or finding time to get tattooed.

TAMD: Do you find it's hard to be a male model in a generally female dominated industry?
Brian Dickie: By no means do I pay rent off this, it's a hobby - at best. But, I can definitely see it being "more accessible" for females. The other side to that though is, there are fewer of me doing it. Tattooed or Alternative modeling is such a niche anyways, I might not even notice a gender discrepancy so much as a lifestyle one. Alternative Male Model is kind of a pocket, within a pocket. Would it be easier if I were female? Probably...but it would also be easier if my hands weren't tattooed. I see it, but it doesn't affect me much.

TAMD: How would you define your style?
I don't think I've been doing this long enough to have one really. I know what I like shooting, and looking at, but not how to define it. Still working the whole style thing out.

TAMD: Tell us a little about your tattoos? How many do you have, meanings, etc?
The last time I counted it was around 20, but that was a few years ago and I now just consider it one big one that isn't done yet. But they're all stories, and all mean something. Where I'm from, where I've worked, things I can't forget or don't want to. A few memorials, some demons, some advice, and some guardians. A few silly ones, but even the stories for those are a few pages long.

TAMD: What do you think is the biggest misconception about those with modifications?
BD: I think inferiority.

TAMD: Speaking of modifications, besides tattoos, what other modifications do you have?
BD: I have stretched ears, at about an inch. a 6 gauge septum, 8 gauge labret, and 10 gauge barbells in my nipples.

Were do you want your modeling career to go?
BD: Wherever it does. I don't ever expect to be on billboards or bus stops, but a tattoo magazine or two would be cool.

TAMD: What was the story behind your shoot with Jim Sorfleet?
BD: Jim is an old friend I've had a working relationship with for about 5 years. We've been involved in a lot of the same things and have a lot of the same interests, but never shot together. It was kind of a first for both of us, he doesnt usually shoot males, and most of my work to that point had been "just standing there" kinds of shots.

How will you be celebrating Halloween, if you celebrate?
The bar I manage in Chicago is for lack of a better word, a "goth bar" so Halloween for me is the busiest night of the year. And has been for the last ten years. I celebrate Halloween usually around November 3rd or 4th.

Is there anything you'd like to add, or promote?
The Alternative Model Directory

All photos are used with permission, and are the sole property of Jim Sorfleet. Do not copy or use without consent from the photographer or model.

Find Brian on Facebook